Loading Events

Rise Twain + Valdez

Friday, December 20
Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$18 ADV / $23 DOS

Rise Twain

Rise Twain is a Philadelphia-based duo offering material ranging from anthemic to plaintive, grand to intimate, fertile to destructive. They are the union of Brett William Kull (producer, audio engineer, and member of Echolyn, Grey Eye Glances, and Francis Dunnery’s New Progressives) and J.D. Beck (Beck-Fields, The Scenic Route, author & playwright), forward-thinking songwriters that have cast their debut album with eloquent structures fit for both the heart-wrenching and star-clenching. They bring with them many collective years of direct and varied experience in writing, performing, and recording music.

From first listen, Rise Twain compels. Kull’s background not only as a musician but also a producer feeds into the album’s rich sonic tapestry. The music itself weaves elements of alternative and progressive styles with the instantly appealing pulse of radio emissions buzzing in the brain. Kull and Beck stir an awareness of sound into this evocative, sublime collection. They’ve found uniqueness in these 10 original songs that meld engaging, relatable lyrics and serene, organic vocals with stealthy music that possesses an undercurrent of patient but brooding power. “Everspring” hits abruptly from the start. It charges in, reminiscent of the blues, lit with shadows of a desperate waltz. “Golden” and “Falling Skies” display the dynamic range of the band – serene to bombastic – while soulful songs such as “Oh This Life” and “Prayers,” a pair that deepens the album at its mid-point, are inviting, intimate experiences.

Music is a kind of secret language…Beck and Kull have formed it into a most mesmerizing communicative device, relaying emotion and drama in vivid colors. Nothing unnecessary added, all things in their right place. Compelling, calming and Zen; intimate yet stealthily intense.



Valdez is a five-piece Art Rock band from Philadelphia, USA, comprised of Simon Godfrey (vocals and guitar), Karl Eisenhart (guitar), Scott Miller (drums), Joe Cardillo (keyboards), and Tom Hyatt (bass). Valdez released their debut album, ‘This’, in April of 2017, and are hard at work on their highly anticipated follow-up, for release in 2020.